Bishara Group IM Chats

I have wanted to post this for ages, but never got the time.

When I created the Bish group it was for socializing and I wanted people to feel free to use it to ask questions, chat about Bish stuff, and generally have fun with one another.  It is after all a group chat tool.  Since we grew with some managers coming and fortunately going, many folks were flamed for simply chatting, saying ‘hi’ or asking a question on the group IM.  So I realized that we need to make a rule that works for everyone, so here it is.

The Bishara Group IM chat can be used for any Bishara group or member issues, single notices of social events on the Resort, announcements of marriage or even just for saying ‘hello’. 

The Bishara Group IM chat may not be used for advertising, for spamming folks with event announcements, or for flaming / griefing. Anyone caught doing any of this on a repeated basis will be ejected from the group.  Flaming someone or griefing someone through this group will get you a ban from the resort as well, as I do not stand for abuse or discrimination of any sort.

Why am I so tough about the last point? In the beginning of my life as a sim owner I was subjected to a well known avatar in SL’s racist remarks through an ongoing attack of such intensity that I felt I should leave SL completely. This person’s attack was because I tried to assist someone in the Concierge group with reporting griefers, and in those days a certain service for Sim owners was quite handy and I made the mistake of mentioning this service’s name.  That was the trigger for what became an attack on my culture and my person, and it left me shocked and disillusioned, as I had read this avatar’s blog regularly prior to this attack and had even agreed with some of the points he/she raised in some of the posts on that blog.  Having this happen to me stripped that admiration for he/she completely, and revealed to me the ugly side of Second Life, the fact that we do not really know the person behind the avatar.  The weirdest thing about this, is how the attack turned from an SL related issue to a RL related issue with the question ‘Are you Asian?’ only to be followed by ‘you’re African?’ – and then a tirade about how I am from a culture in which we are ‘psuedo nice’ people who are actually violent in nature, and so on and so on.

The funny part of that is that I am in fact European, though born in South Africa, as many of you know, but he/she took my SL name as his/her guide to who I am, and it sounded Asian / African I guess so I was open to attack and verbal abuse.  Those days reporting something like this in SL was almost unknown and I regret never doing so.  I remember in my shock I emailed Torley Linden about it and he was a great support to me.  However, the point was that as an European I for the first time felt what it must feel like for so many people around the world who are subjected to such treatment every day!  It cannot be tolerated and having matured in SL since that day, I don’t stand for it at all.

So, I don’t care who you are in SL or RL, if you flame or abuse someone, and a copy of the IM is sent to me in an abuse report or it is shown publicly in the Bish group IMs, you will be banned and I will report you to the Lindens as well, who I am glad to say look like they take such attacks more seriously these days.  VW Sands and the team in Bish are well capable of doing the same and are authorized to kick butt 😉  If you have experienced any such problems in Bish talk to them or me asap. We promise to be there for you!

To those who complain about IM chats ‘bothering’ you, just click on the little cross to the upper right hand side of the actual Bishara Group IM window.  That closes the group chat and ends any IM’s bothering you until you log on the next time.

2 Responses

  1. Great timing Dumi! Why just last night we had a hillarious good time in group chat after I announced some changes on Wimbi. Seems they always start so innocent and always lead to gut-busting laughter 🙂

    Use group chat more! And remember, if you ever need assistance, information or just a bunch of great people to listen, group chat is the place.

    You would be amazed at how fast 40 people can tp in to rescue you if you ever get in a jam too 🙂

  2. Ditto! We Bisharians take care of our own. We are a big family with no room for drama, hate, or spamming.

    Love ya all but I will put you in the corner if you choose to misbehave. 😉

    Lissa

Leave a Reply

